Second Press
Second Press Podcast
The Values of the Second Amendment
0:00
-13:27

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of Second Press

The Values of the Second Amendment

By: C.S
9

When my husband and I found out that I was pregnant for the fifth time, we assumed it was another girl. We already had four fabulous daughters and it seemed to be the trend. But we were in for a shock. My first ultrasound came, and I was alone. No big deal. I had done this four times before, so I knew what to expect. I remember the tech looking at the screen, and then stopping the scan. She stood up and said she would be right back. I got a little freaked out. Was something wrong?

The doctor came in and asked how many kids did I have? I answered four. He responded that now I had six. I thought, “Wow! The doctor is an idiot and can’t count.” Then it dawned on me; I was having twins, and I found out next that the twins were boys. I started crying, not because I was scared or overwhelmed, but rather because my husband had told me that while he loved all his daughters, part of him would always want a son. He wanted the chance to raise a good man. Now he had the opportunity to raise two.

In our society where men are denigrated and told that masculinity is toxic, it is hard to find male heroes anymore. Those who do exhibit the traditional values of a good man are demonized. Are there any modern examples of the characteristics needed in men to remain a strong and free nation? Where can we look to find these examples?

What do Audey Murphy, Samwise Gamgee, C S Lewis, and Kyle Rittenhouse have to do with the Second Amendment? Each separate and together define the morality needed for a free and just society. Our founders knew this and codified these views in the Constitution.

Many know of the bravery of Audey Murphy. Of course, in my family my kids have heard of him. We own his movie, and for years all we had were movies in the house to watch. My children grew up on John Wayne, old WWII movies, Star Wars, and the animated Lord of the Rings. So, they have heard of Murphy’s heroism. Audey Murphy is America’s most decorated WWII combat soldier. He was one of twelve kids born to sharecroppers in Texas. From these humble beginnings when WWII broke out, he lied about his age and at sixteen he volunteered to serve. He tried the Marines and was rejected. He tried the Paratroopers and was rejected. Finally, the Army accepted him and before too long he was deployed. At 19, he single-handedly held off off six Panzer tanks and 250 Infantrymen, personally killing fifty while repelling the German attack on three sides ultimately stalling the Germans and allowing the Allies to counterattack and secure the town. He earned 28 medals, including the Medal of Honor, all before the age of 21. His unassuming personality only strengthened the nation’s admiration for this young man. Duty, honor, sacrifice, courage, and humility: all the qualities American men were supposed to have. Murphy was a man of action and integrity; a true hero. Murphy embodied the American spirit. He learned to shoot as a boy, as many boys did. He was responsible for taking care of his family having to quit fifth grade after his father passed. No excuses, he did what real American men are supposed to do. He is a real-world example of a good man.

Listen to this episode with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to Second Press to listen to this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.

Second Press
Second Press Podcast
A digital pamphlet for the advancement of the second Amendment