Second Press
Second Press Podcast
Magic Omnibus
4
0:00
-6:54

Magic Omnibus

By: Rufus King
4

"When government's fear the people, there is Liberty. When the people fear the government, there is Tyranny."

- Thomas Jefferson.

In the early morning hours of March 9th, 2022, the Senate passed the Omnibus Appropriations Bill, 2,700 pages of felicitous bellied pork. 1.5 trillion dollars magically conjured to grease the cogs of government. After a very brief - or rather hurried debate - March 11th, 2022, congress passed The Consolidated Appropriations Act 2022. Billions of dollars doled out to the all too commonplace arena, of "give and take" politics. The donkeys want new green raw deals and the half lumps demand defense spending. This legislation consists of 12 annual appropriation acts intended to fund the federal government. Without any doubt Biden signed this Act into law, otherwise the federal government would have "shut down" apart from the bill’s passage.

The Act provisions for increased funding for every federal law enforcement agency from the ATF to the IRS. These agencies are to receive increases upwards of 30% in most cases. Eschew the rallying cry of Defund the Police, rather indulge in the funding for 2,000 additional D.C. Capitol police officers. The current Executive Branch answers their failed ventures in congress by exponential expansion. They will execute their designs and desires regardless, truly an executive caveat.

Former Congresswoman Gabriel Giffords is touting her praises, "Congress passes Bill with Critical Funding for Gun Violence Prevention." Sections 1101-1102 of the CAA 2022, refer to the NICS Denial Notification Act. To provide for the reporting to state and local law enforcement authorities of cases in which the national instant criminal background check system indicates that a firearm has been sought to be acquired by a prohibited person. Enabling authorities may pursue criminal charges under state law, and to ensure that the Department of Justice reports to congress on prosecutions secured against prohibited persons who attempt to acquire a firearm. Section 1103 states that the Department of Justice and the ATF "may enlist personnel" at their discretion, or simply deputize on demand. Section 1103 enables federal bureaucrats the ability to supersede state laws and oftentimes federal agents are exempt from common constitutional provisions.

I'm an avid "gun guy," I learned firearm usage and safety over 45 years ago. For me this is a way of life, liberty and definitely is pursuant to my happiness. Over the years I have collected firearms of my own fancy, from modest collections of surplus arms to my current infatuation for vintage Bicycle "Boy's" .22 caliber rifles. Conservatively, I have purchased 100+ handguns through the years, passing my background check no problem each and every time. Hundreds of NICS checks passed, with very few delays, until November 24th 2021, I was denied! Wait, what, don't they know that I have my Concealed Pistol License with fingerprinting and extensive background checks? My little world turned upside down from the clickety-clacking FBI keyboard in West Virginia. What do I do now? Well at first, I filed an appeal, of which was rewarded with an Official Denial. So, I contacted my pro 2A Senator, who responded through a local liaison, only to be told that the FBI has made their determination of denial. She and I both, in concern for the firearms I have in possession, don't pressure her contact in the Bureau. Last avenue of pursuit, the American way, I hire an attorney. Fortunately, I am a Second Amendment activist and have the acquaintance of a like-minded lawyer. After one email from him on my behalf, he received a phone call from a "very nice" agent literally less than 18hrs later. She informed my attorney that I was required to submit my fingerprints along with some court documents and "it should be just fine." I procured the prints and papers, he sent them out. The 13th of January I finally received the "good news," my fingerprints are different than the "ones used to evaluate whether I may possess a firearm or not." That's it? The Biometric Services Section Criminal Justice Information Services Section had fingerprints that were supposed to be mine but weren't... huh? Thousands of dollars, duress, stress, embarrassment, and panic because the FBI "said so."

The DOJ will not admit truthfully to the fact that 9 times out of 10 NICS Denials are False. These statistics are according to the Crime Prevention Research Center's Dr. John Lott and the Gun Owners of America, who until now have the only reality researched database. Because the NICS Denial Notification Act is law, my aforementioned ordeal will pale in comparison to what will be. A joint federal and local criminal investigation will most certainly inhibit the common defense against a false denial, the financial burdens alone are catastrophic. State troopers and police officers "deputized" as ATF Agents entitled to "pursue criminal charges under state law," once denied. Quite easily no warrant search and seizure, as such, the denial could be used as probable cause, especially when enforced by a federal agent. The NICS Denial Notification Act encompassed inside 2,741 pages of bloated American legalese, is draconian legislation and firearm prohibition genius.

   "Second Amendment’s language “shall not be infringed” does not allow the government to require preclearance before a person is permitted to exercise enumerated constitutional rights."

-Gun Owners of America

4 Comments
Second Press
Second Press Podcast
A digital pamphlet for the advancement of the second Amendment